Basic Raid Level at Storage or server

Overall basic RAID has 4 type:

  • RAID 0

RAID 0 use data striping, allow data to be written equal size segments across the array disk. Provide high performance, simultaneously transferring data to or form every disk array. RAID 0 don’t have data redundancy or FT. if one disk failed, all data will be lost in raid 0. Raid 0 no FT but we can use all the capacity over there.

  • RAID 1

RAID 1 also know disk mirroring. Is simple form to replicating data into two or more disk. If 1 disk failed data are directed to the other disk counterpart. Allowing normal access to data without interruption. After disk failed replaced data from god disk member of mirror will rebuild onto new disk. RAID 1 have 100% data redundancy, rate of read transaction is twice of single disk. But RAID 1 will loss 50% storage space

  • RAID 5

Raid 5 provide data redundancy by using data striping with parity information. The parity information is stripped across all disks at array. Raid 5 required minimum 3 disk to implement. Raid level deliver high read rate when the data is accessed in large chunks.

  • RAID 6

RAID 6 Provides data redundancy by using data striping with parity information. Raid 6 require dedication two drives of space. when single drive failed in the virtual disk, there is still have redundancy, so is considered partially degraded.

Related Posts

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top